The Aaron M.Priest Literary Agency

Madeleine L’Engle

Madeleine L’Engle (1918-2007) is the author of more than 60 books for children and adults, among them the beloved A Wrinkle in Time, winner of the Newbery Medal and first in the Time Quintet series of novels. Her books have won or been finalists for dozens of additional awards, and in 1998 she was named the recipient of the American Library Association’s Margaret A. Edwards Award, honoring her lifetime contribution in writing for teens. She is also the recipient of 17 Honorary Doctorate degrees from colleges and universities across the U.S. Her work has been published in more than three dozen languages around the world.

In April 2020, Grand Central Publishing will release The Moment of Tenderness, a collection of rarely and never-before seen short stories by Madeleine L’Engle that were discovered in her archives and curated by one of her granddaughters.

L’Engle’s Intergalactic P.S. 3, a short story originally published in 1970 and from which the elements of her novel A Wind in the Door were developed, is available now from Farrar Straus & Giroux, with illustrations by Hope Larson.

L’Engle’s granddaughters, Charlotte Jones Voiklis and Léna Roy, have written a biography of Madeleine L’Engle for middle grade students called Becoming Madeleine, which was published by Farrar Straus Giroux Books for Young Readers in 2018 and met with great critical praise.

A feature film adaptation of A Wrinkle in Time, directed by Ava DuVernay with a screenplay by Jennifer Lee, was released by Disney in 2018.

The Moment of Tenderness Intergalactic P.S.3